pic of the week

Weekly photo blog

kicking

my last week was a bit full on with loads of meetings, workshops, conversations, people – i felt i was very hectic and constantly rushing and stressing about. on my way to one of those meetings i cycled past this leave-covered car and in my hectic mindset stopped so abruptly i almost fell over my handle bars. as i was snapping away with my camera this girl appeared, totally lost in the joy of kicking leaves; i don’t even know whether she ever noticed me. i hope she doesn’t mind me sharing this picture: i felt really inspired by her ability to forget everything else and just feel the joy of kicking leaves.  i think it caught on a bit because i spent the rest of the journey much more attentive to my environment and the change in season.

i also felt almost a little understood by her: i really needed to kick leaves or a fuss or something myself that day. i had built up quite a lot of anger over the government’s welfare reform and the so-called ‘troubled families programme’ which makes me cringe especially after just having been in a couple of households in woolwich where i could see the impact of poverty on families very clearly. so a good kick was needed and it helped seeing the girl doing it – and i’ll go to to find my own pile of leaves now for an extra dose of release!

defiant, angry

The Author

Writer, Photographer, Craftivist, Facilitator, Mediator, Trainer, Founding Director of deep:black. Passionate about equality & empowerment. And about anger & vulnerability.