pic of the week

Weekly photo blog

Peckham Boy

I cycled past this poster in a side alley of Peckham High Street on Wednesday – it was early morning, the sun was out, the sky was blue and Peckham High Street almost peaceful. I had just done a detour on my way to work through Peckham Rye Common to check the bench where I left my iPhone the previous afternoon – I didn’t really believe it would still be lying there now, just waiting for me to pick it up again, but I told myself that I have to tick off “having tried everything to retrieve it”. A tiny part of me actually expected the unexpected: a little note pinned on the bench by the woman who sat next to me when I was last using it – I like to believe that she spotted it when I left and remembered seeing me with it – “don’t worry, I’ve saved it and will hand it in to the police…” I was then almost grumpy that despite my best faith in fellow Londoners it was the Peckham sceptics who won this first round and there was no trace of a note…

A friend had tweeted me the night before “Oh Petra… PECKHAM” which seemed to say it all. My house mate had a very similar view of people’s in Peckham and immediately created a story involving drug addictions. I so would have liked to prove them all wrong – I kept phoning Peckham police for 3 days in a row and no iPhone had been handed in. Taking this picture & posting it here is my apology to Peckham for adding to it’s bad rep by having told friends about my lost iPhone in Peckham – isn’t it just a place full of life in all it’s splendour? This boy’s face seems to say it all: love life and don’t worry about iPhones…

I’ve actually totally stopped worrying about mine and gone back to my old Nokia 6300. I will try Peckham police once more after the weekend but really only to give Peckham people one more chance than to actually retrieve my phone.


The Author

Writer, Photographer, Craftivist, Facilitator, Mediator, Trainer, Founding Director of deep:black. Passionate about equality & empowerment. And about anger & vulnerability.