pic of the week

Weekly photo blog

left behind

I went to for a walk in Epping Forest today to welcome spring, and all of a sudden in the middle of nature, blue sky and bird song I happened on a completely burnt out car – or whatever remained of it. I was really drawn to it like a nail to a magnet, and found it at the same time totally haunting, horrible and beautiful. Part of my imagination immediately went wild with sad stories of what might have happened here and I could virtually smell the smoke from the fire. Another part of my imagination was fascinated by the beauty of the impact of the fire on the car, especially the patterns that the heat had created on the doors that now looked like a wide river from above or an abstract drawing of a lizard…

The Author

Writer, Photographer, Craftivist, Facilitator, Mediator, Trainer, Founding Director of deep:black. Passionate about equality & empowerment. And about anger & vulnerability.