Pic of the week

Weekly photo blog

Woolwich creatures

I happened on this pigeon the other day as I was walking around Woolwich Dockyard. I found myself being at the same time fascinated & unsettled by the area which looks partly deserted & dead and partly very industrious & busy. I nearly stepped on the pigeon and noticed it just in time – strange, but I know that I would have felt really upset if I had stepped on it especially because it was already dead. It was actually not just dead but beheaded and I was unsettled by the brutality of it and amazed by the beauty of its body even after such an act of violence:  see the feathers, their softness, straightness, rich colours and incredible patterns…

The Author

Writer, Photographer, Craftivist, Facilitator, Mediator, Trainer, Founding Director of deep:black. Passionate about equality & empowerment. And about anger & vulnerability.